Driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while impaired by controlled substances are traffic citations, which carry criminal penalties, as well as fines, and the possibility of losing ones privilege to drive.
When you are charged with DUI/DWI in Maryland, two different types of hearings may be scheduled. First, a Court Hearing will be held in the District Court of Maryland to determine fines and penalties. If requested within 10 days of the initial stop, an administrative hearing will also be conducted to determine possible restrictions to your driving privileges in Maryland. If you do not specifically petition for this administrative hearing, your driving privilege in Maryland will be automatically suspended.
There are a variety of Defenses available in a DUI/DWI trial as well as an MVA administrative hearing. There are also a variety of alternative sentences available to avoid incarceration or outright suspension. Contact Attorney Pikulski for a free consultation to discuss your particular case and a course of action that best suits your situation.
Whether you are looking for assistance with a DUI/DWI trial or an administrative hearing, there are numerous approaches that Attorney Pikulski may employ to successfully resolve your case. In additional traditional defenses, Attorney Pikulski can walk you through the various alternative sentences that would help you avoid incarceration or outright suspension. Let us help you develop a course of action that best suits your particular circumstances. Contact Attorney Pikulski today for a free consultation to discuss your case.
Below are the potential penalties for several DUI related citations.
|Charge||Maryland Code||Points||Maximum Penalty||Fine|
|Driving While Impaired (DWI) (First Offense)||21-902||8||60 days||500|
|Driving While Impaired (Subsequent Offense)||201-902||8||1 year||500|
|Driving Under the Influence (DUI) (First Offense)||21-902||12||1 year||1000|
|Driving Under the Influence (Second Offense)||21-902||12||2 years||2000|
|Driving Under the Influence ((Third or Subsequent Offense)||21-902||12||3 years||3000|